Home > The Body Politic > My political compass…

My political compass…

.

20-september

.

TVNZ are doing a very interesting on-line political survey, where respondents are asked to give feedback to various political issues. It’s a New Zealand version of an overseas political compass that has been in existence for soime years.

I enourage people to go online and complete the survey. I’m sure a lot of politicians will be taking some interest in the outcomes.

I present my own compass here;

.

How much you agree with the parties

.

I agree only 90% with boththe Greens and Mana?! Hmmm, methinks I’ll have to check my middle class privilege…

But even more disturbingly, I agreed 23% with ACT?!?! And 37% with the Conservative Party?! What the heck is up with that?! I’m not going to be able to sleep well tonight…

Interestingly, this highlights a very real dilemma for me; who to give my Party Vote to?

Both the Greens and Internet-Mana are worthy parties to support. This is a real “sophie’s Choice” for me…

.

How you fit in the political landscape

.

Well, the above chart shows me clearly to the left on economic and socially progressive issues. Thank goodness. (In my teens and early 20s I would’ve been closer to National or ACT. But then, I was young and stupid.)

.

How you rate the party leaders

.

I think I was overly generous for Winston Peters…

I voted ‘1’ for Colin Craig based on,

  • his opposition to state asset sales,
  • his opposition to selling farmland to overseas investors,
  • his regular  contributions to the legal fraternity,
  • entertainment value.

One of the questions asked was what was the most pressing issue for me this election? I put child poverty. All else flows from that.

I encourage folk to take the Political Compass survey. (Just be careful before answering the questions as some are double-negatives.)

Have fun!

.


 

References

TVNZ: Vote Compass

 


 

.

john key is scared of your vote

Above image acknowledgment: Francis Owen/Lurch Left Memes

.

.

= fs =

  1. Mooloo magic
    23 August 2014 at 11:26 pm

    Mine came out with Mana on top also, my results were very simlar to yours, we must have similar political values

  2. Deb Kean
    24 August 2014 at 2:02 pm

    I must try that!
    Deb

    • 24 August 2014 at 9:02 pm

      It’s good fun, Debs! Let us know where you stand.

      • Deb Kean
        25 August 2014 at 3:11 pm

        I ended up as a Mana supporter! That should not really have surprised me..
        Deb

        • 26 August 2014 at 8:52 am

          No, not surprising at all, Debs.

          In fact, if people voted solely on policy, and not personalities, I suspect Mana would be one of the three main parties in Parliament. From what I can see, Mana is what Labour used to be.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

