Home > Social Issues, The Body Politic > This is why I changed my views on abortion…

This is why I changed my views on abortion…

.

 

no lies

.

In my teens and early 20s, I was fairly conservative in some of my political views.

This is one reason why I changed my views on abortion, some thirty years ago;

.

anti abortion meme - Green Party

.

Any political group that has to resort to using lies to promote it’s agenda is not worthy of support.

If an anti-abortion group has to rely on mis-representing another group’s policies to promote it’s own ideology, then that ideology is bankrupt.

That is why I went from being conservative to pro-choice. I could not sustain a belief that, as I gradually found out, was based on mis-information; exaggeration; and outright lies.

Pro-life?

More like pro-lies.

This is what the actual Green Party policy really states;

 

  • To support the freedom to have an abortion the Green Party will:

  1. Decriminalise abortion by removing it from the Crimes Act.

  2. Allow terminations after 20 weeks gestation only when the woman would otherwise face serious permanent injury to her health, or in the case of severe fetal abnormalities (as is current practice).

Whether or not you agree with the Green’s policy is entirely up to you. I’m not here to persuade you one way or another.

But at least let your decision be made on the truth, rather than a lie.

.


 

References

Pro-life.org: How Green’s became NZ’s abortion party

Green Party: Women’s Policy – Valuing Women

 


 

.

Vote and be the change

Above image acknowledgment: Francis Owen/Lurch Left Memes

This blogpost was first published on The Daily Blog on 11 June 2014.

.

.

= fs =

  1. 17 June 2014 at 2:12 pm

    I actually worked for an anti-abortion group and the truth is the anti-abortion movement in New Zealand is nothing but a front for the Catholic Church and fundamentalist Christians. I basically rubbed a lot of people in the movement up the wrong way when I suggested that better and compulsory sex education in schools and better public sex education campaigns and free and readily available contraception would do more to reduce both unwanted pregnancies and abortions than moralistic finger-wagging about the evils of sex before marriage. Over the years I found that most people who had abortions were either married women with children (a fact which the anti-abortion groups choose to ignore) or women with little or no knowledge of sex education or contraception (another fact they choose to ignore). At the end of the day it should be up to women to decide whether or not to have an abortion and to decide how the laws regarding abortion should be shaped because they are the ones who have to deal with the consequences of an unwanted pregnancy.

    • 17 June 2014 at 5:02 pm

      So they wouldn’t support increased availability to contraception and better public sex education?

      Why am I not surprised…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

