Home > Various > Thank you, Geoff, and best wishes for your future…

Thank you, Geoff, and best wishes for your future…

.

geoff robinson radio nz

Morning Report co-host, Geoff Robinson

Photo Acknowledgement: Sunday Star Times

.

Tomorrow (1 April) see the last day for one of New Zealand’s best media presenters; Radio New Zealand’s Geoff Robinson. It will be a sad day, and somewhere in the back of my mind, I am hoping that this is some kind of quirky “April Fool’s” joke from the good people of Radio NZ.

In all seriousness, I will miss Geoff’s steady voice and hand. As I wrote 23 November, last year,

Geoff Robinson had been a part of my mornings since I “discovered” Radio NZ in the early 199os. He had been part of my mornings since then, outlasting several partners/lovers, and being there as I had my brekky and first of umpteen coffees.

His style was professional and reassuring. He asked the questions and voiced pertinent points from his guests that screamed from my own thoughts.  He always sounded chatty and “laid back” – but his subtle questioning could be deceptively edgy and insightful.

It’s a cliche, I know, but he will be a tough act to follow.

 

All things must end. But with the certainty of change also come human feelings of loss and sadness.

As I also wrote last year; I will miss him terribly. Like a family member who hangs around, never really imposing himself, but always with something interesting to say.

All the best, Geoff!

.

*

.

Previous related blogpost

Geoff Robinson – an era ends

.

.

= fs =

Categories: Various Tags: ,
  1. 1 April 2014 at 7:05 am

    Best Wishes Geoff for the future!

  2. ray
    2 April 2014 at 6:49 am

    The man is a a national taonga. I will miss his intelligent interviews, wit, and decency. It has been a privilege waking up to him each morning before staggering of to the dreariness of the office.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

