Home > Media, People Being People > Geoff Robinson – an era ends.

Geoff Robinson – an era ends.

.

geoff robinson radio nz

Morning Report co-host, Geoff Robinson

Photo Acknowledgement: Sunday Star Times

.

It was a feeling of sadness and a losing a familiar part of my world , when I heard today (28 November) that Geoff Robinson would be resigning next year, on 1 April, from his role as Radio NZ’s Morning Report co-host. (see: Geoff Robinson to leave Morning Report)

Geoff Robinson had been a part of my mornings since I “discovered” Radio NZ in the early 199os. He had been part of my mornings since then, outlasting several partners/lovers, and being there as I had my brekky and first of umpteen coffees.

His style was professional and reassuring. He asked the questions and voiced pertinent points from his guests that screamed from my own thoughts.  He always sounded chatty and “laid back” – but his subtle questioning could be deceptively edgy and insightful.

It’s a cliche, I know, but he will be a tough act to follow.

I will miss him terribly. Like a family member who hangs around, never really imposing himself, but always with something interesting to say.

I thank Geoff for making my mornings something to look forward to. How else could one face a Monday morning after a relaxing weekend?

And I thank Geoff for giving us notice up till 1 April. I shall be making the most of the time left and relishing every moment of the time he has given us.

Enjoy your retirement, Geoff. And your lie-ins. You’ve more than earned it.

.

“Here was a Caesar! when comes such another?” –  Julius Caesar, Act 3, Scene 2

.

.

= fs =

  1. 28 November 2013 at 12:08 pm

    Hear hear!

  2. 28 November 2013 at 1:29 pm

    Have a go yourself Frank?

    • 28 November 2013 at 4:11 pm

      Waking up at 4am in the morning?! Yikes! I think not, Peter!! I’ll leave that to people made of sterner stuff! 😀

  3. 1 December 2013 at 2:28 am

    Totally agreed on this one, Also going to miss Laidlaw when he’s gone as well, intelligence seems hard to come by these days unfortunately… maybe take his slot, he would get up slightly later perhaps 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

