Home > On A Lighter Note > It’s a cat’s life…

It’s a cat’s life…

It’s not just those cute and/or crazy cat memes on Facebook – Real Life took a weird turn when a sample cat-food satchet turned up in our letter box (with accompanying “menu”-stle advertising brochure).

At first I didn’t take much notice of it and casually chucked it into the pantry with the cat food cans. Next day when I took it out to give to our four-legged, non-rent-paying boarders, the label caught my eye;

.

Image.

Tuna, surimi, whitebait ?!?!

Who gives their cats whitebait ?!?!

Holy smoke – I don’t eat whitebait! Not when the price-per-kilo is fast approaching that of gold bullion!

Maybe the front label was referring to mock-whitebait. Like surimi is mock-crab?

So I checked the Ingredients list as the back. Yep – there it is; whitebait.

.

Image 001.

So, the only thing left – open it up.

With the contents emptied into a bowl,  a visual inspection showed what definitely looks like… whitebait.

.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA.

What next – crayfish?

Pate de foie gras?

Caviar?

Would the pussy cats like to see the wine menu, perhaps?

Whitebait… I think we’ll stick to cans of  ‘Chef’ or ‘Whiskas’.  I definitely prefer the natural order of things where cats pester us for our food, and not the other way around.

.

.

= fs =

Categories: On A Lighter Note Tags:
  1. 28 May 2013 at 10:22 pm

    Lol love it! I’m not a fan of whitebait, so our cats can have it. Tuna on the other hand…..

  2. 28 May 2013 at 10:51 pm

    Not sure we can afford either for our cats, Allyson… 😀

  3. 28 May 2013 at 11:05 pm

    So totally mad!

  4. 29 May 2013 at 5:43 am

    Kids are going to school hungry because their parents can’t afford a box of Weetbix. Meanwhile, Fluffy is enjoying a hearty bowl of whitebait and surimi broth. Something’s horribly wrong with the world… but I just can’t put my finger on what that might be.

    (Incidentally, I have a cat. She’s pretty happy with a bowl of Friskies and routinely drinks out of dirty puddles.)

  5. Deborah Kean
    29 May 2013 at 2:16 pm

    My late unlamented husband used to spend many unproductive hours catching whitebait in Whakatane, and selling them down the pub for ridiculous prices (he didn’t like them, and I was put off when the mother-in-law kidded me that they had to be filletted before eating. Well, I’d never seen them, how was I to know?) 🙂 Meanwhile, my son’s large and strange cat Cleo, will reportedly only eat dry biscuits (although I didn’t know that, and fed her the cheapest tinned muck and she ate it). Semi-veg, me, but I love seafood! (Except for kina and whitebait – noooooooooooo!)
    Deb

  6. Theodore
    30 May 2013 at 8:46 pm

    Whitebait!! For pets??

    WTF!!!

  1. 29 May 2013 at 10:59 pm

Leave a Reply

